

HONORARY AWARDS COMMITTEE

Terms of Reference

<u>Purpose</u>

To establish and review the processes for nomination to, and conferment of, honorary awards and to consider all nominations received and make recommendations to Senate and University Council with a short-list of names for consideration.

<u>Terms</u>

- 1. To keep under review the approval criteria, regulations and arrangements for the conferring of honorary awards, and to advise Senate and University Council.
- 2. To consider nominations made to the Committee and to recommend to Senate and University Council the names of persons on whom honorary awards should be conferred.
- 3. Upon the recommendation of the Honorary Awards Committee, the Vice-Chancellor, as Chair of Senate, and the Chair of Council shall have the power to revoke the award of an Honorary Degree, where it is satisfied that the individual concerned has acted in such a way as to reasonably warrant the revocation of the award, which would include any behaviour that could damage the reputation of the University or bring it into disrepute.
- 4. To review and approve University's Honorary Awards Guidelines.

<u>Membership</u>

Vice-Chancellor, Chair, *ex officio* Deputy Vice-Chancellor, *ex officio* Normally, up to five members appointed by and from the University's Council, at least three of whom are external members One member elected by, and from, the University's Senate School Deans

In attendance

University Secretary Senior Governance Officer

Current membership

Professor B Cryan (Vice-Chancellor, *ex officio*, and Chair) Professor T Thornton (Deputy Vice-Chancellor, *ex officio*) Mr J Thornton (Chair of University Council) Mrs C Morrow (external member of Council) Baroness K Pinnock (external member of Council) Mr K Pilicudale (Council member) Mr W Aijaz (Council member) Dr S Eastburn (member elected by and from Senate) Professor A Ball (Acting School Dean) Professor N Clear (School Dean)



Professor M Ginger (School Dean) Professor J Owen-Lynch (Acting School Dean) Professor A Sambell (Acting School Dean)

<u>Quorum</u>

Fifty percent of the current membership (rounded up to the nearest whole number), of whom at least two shall be Senate/Dean members and at least two shall be external members of University Council.

Frequency of Meetings

1. The Committee shall meet as and when required and shall report to Senate and University Council.

Delegation of Authority

- 1. The Chair shall have delegated authority to act between meetings, after consulting with the University Secretary. Details of any action taken will then be reported back to the Committee at its next meeting.
- 27 November 2024